Daily MoodLifter: Tired of Having Super Painful .’s?

By

I paid my dues for many years.  The cramps were SO BAD in high school that I remember moaning and groaning in a hot bath missing class.  I mean… do you remember going from this sweet, innocent child, to a raging teenager thinking, “WHAT ON EARTH DID WOMAN DO TO DESERVE THIS??!!!”.  Yes, thank you, Eve.  It was SO INTENSE that I just knew I had endometriosis, but I was never tested, and when the time came I had ABSOLUTELY no problem getting pregnant, as so many of my friends did.  But in between every pregnancy, the torture would begin again, and between acne, crying, cramping, and all but SLASHING MY HUSBAND’S THROAT at least once a month, enough was enough.  So I had the ablation.  Did it fix the hormonal issues such as acne or irritability?  No. But with decreased bloating, almost no cramping, and absolutely no period whatsoever, my mood has definitely improved!

However….

I found a few tricks to help with all of the other inconveniences, and I suspect that I could have saved myself that little procedure had I known what I know now.  I didn’t have a lot of the information then that I now have, and honestly didn’t have the will power to make the nutritional choices then that I do now.  While personally, I really have nothing bad to say about the ablation, there are SO MANY things you can do to ease the hell that the dreaded visitor brings aside from surgery.

So, here are a few tips to help you out.

1.) If you have endometriosis and aren’t ready to tie on the hospital gown, here is part of the protocol from Dr. Sara Gottfried (author of The Hormone Cure):

  • Try NAC (N-acetylcysteine): reduces endometriosis of the ovary. She recommends 600 mg three times per day.
  • Magnesium may reduce muscle tension associated with endometriosis. 150-450 mg per day recommended.
  • Chasteberry has been shown to raise progesterone, to help with fertility, and to increase live birth rate. You can read the Stanford trial at FertilityBlend.com.
  • Crampbark has been shown to reduce pain from muscle spasm and menstrual cramps.
  • Limited evidence for Wild endive (Chicory or Dandelion).

Also, you would want to discover the root cause of your endometriosis to really figure out how to holistically treat it.  Usually it’s estrogen dominance, with or without low progesterone. Also, do you have any other hormonal symptoms that lead to your cycle irregularity?  These are issues a trained health coach can help you work through (clearing my throat).  

2.) Overly painful periods but no endometriosis or known problems:

  • Exercise.  Sometimes the most important times to exercise are when you don’t feel like it the most.  Exercises consistently during the month and continuing during “that time” dramatically decreases the side effects.
  • Clean up your diet: There are countless testimonials of women seeing major improvement from a cleaner diet decreasing the amount of processed foods, dairy, red meat, and other animal products.  The bottom line is that decreasing the added hormones and eliminating food that is hard to digest allows your body to work as intended.
  • Vitamin A, Omega 3, and Magnesium all help estrogen levels to remain balanced, thus helping your body stay a little more balanced.  I am finding how crucial estrogen balance is on so many levels in my own life with skin, weight loss and gain, and overall health and appearance.
  • You might want to consider an estrogen blocker such as EstroBlock.  This has helped my skin and belly fat dramatically, and if estrogen imbalance, especially too many bad estrogens, are playing a roll in your hormonal imbalance, then this could be a good option for you.

I hope this helps you.  Please take note that we can help you understand your hormone imbalances through symptom investigation, at home hormone level testing and evaluation, and holistic solutions that have been proven to work.  Yes, you’re a woman.  No, you don’t have to spend your life suffering because of it!   Nature has to run it’s course and there is a reason for menstruation, but if there is something you can do to make it easier, why wouldn’t you at least try?

All Messiness and Moodiness,

Stacie and Tawny

Shoot us an email at contact@hotmoodymess.org to set up your free consultation!