Homemade Macadamia Cashew Milk + A Bonus!

By

I’m lazy when it comes to food and drink prep.  I have a LOT of things to squeeze into a day, just like most other people (especially moms!).  So, am I going to make almond milk then strain it through cheese cloth to remove all of the unprocessed pieces?  No.  Plus, I don’t love almond milk anyway.  I really don’t even love almonds (even though they are good for me).

But what I do love are cashews.  They are lower in fat than most nuts, have TONS of nutritional bonuses, and taste YUMMY.  One of the only problems I can find with cashews is that they do contain oxalates, which if too concentrated, can cause health concerns (especially in those with existing gallbladder and kidney issues).  So the dilemma is the same as always, sometimes too much of a good thing may not be a good thing.  But I’m STILL not giving up cashews.  Hmmmm…. I KNOW…. I’ll mix another heart healthy nut, macadamia, with my cashews for the PERFECT milk!

nuts

I already knew that separately, homemade cashew milk and homemade macadamia milk are easy to make and absolutely delicious.  Since the cashews blend entirely into the water, and the macadamia nuts blend up well enough to require no straining, no nuts go to waste in the process. That also means that the milk retains all of the fiber and nutrients present in the nuts. Did I mention that you don’t have to strain the mixture? I’m sold.

cashewmacadamiamilk

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 1/2 cup raw macadamia nuts
  • 4 cups water (divided)
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons maple syrup or honey or agave nectar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • dash sea salt
  • pinch cinnamon (optional)

Instructions

  1. Soak the nuts in water at least 4 hours, or overnight in the refrigerator. Drain and rinse until the water runs clear. Add the nuts and two cups water to a blender. Start on a low setting and increase the speed until the cashews and macadamia nuts are totally pulverized. This could take 2 minutes in a high-powered blender or longer in a regular blender.
  2. Blend in 2 cups more water*, your sweetener of choice, vanilla extract, sea salt and cinnamon (optional). If your blender can’t totally break down the nuts, strain the milk through a fine mesh strainer or cheese cloth. Store the milk in a covered container in the refrigerator. It should keep for 3 to 4 days.

BONUS RECIPE

Want homemade chocolate nut milk?   Soak 2-4 tbsp. of Cacao Nibs with the nuts, follow the directions above, but add 2 extra tbps. of sweetener (I used maple syrup).  I had a package of Cacao laying around, so thought I would experiment.

Navitas-Naturals-Cacao-Nibs-Raw-Chocolate-858847000697

This turned out so good… I gulped the jar down for breakfast the next day!

choco

 

All Moodiness,

Tawny

Want help starting a personalized health and wellness plan?  Shoot us a message at contact@hotmoodymess.org to set up your free consultation!