Peachy Beet Salad

By

IMG_4013

Growing up I was NOT a fan of the beet (usually served all mushy and pickled at my Grandmother’s– sorry Grandmother, but GAG).

I think there are a lot of people who share my beet experience.

But over the past year I have had delicious beet salads served at amazing restaurants, have juiced beets for a healthy snack, ate delectable roasted yellow beets made by my friend the chef, and now, I have made yummy beet recipes myself!  This is my favorite to date… so I am happy to share.

IMG_4006

Peachy Beet Salad:

1 bunch of spinach chopped

3 small-medium beets peeled and cubed (I used red- and large beets are sometimes more bitter)

2 peaches peeled and sliced into small pieces

1 fresh jalapeño with seeds removed and chopped

2 cloves of garlic chopped.

1 1/2 cup cooked quinoa

2 tbsp coconut oil

1/4 cup fresh orange juice

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

2 tbsp olive oil (EVOO)

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375.  Wash and peel beets and cut into bite size cubes.  Throw them on a foil lined cookie sheet and drizzle with coconut oil (this makes them AMAZING), and sprinkle with a dash of sea salt.  Stick ’em in the oven for about 30 minutes.

Cook the quinoa according to directions.

As the beets and quinoa cook, chop and remove the seeds from the jalapeño (optional), chop your spinach into very small bites, and peel and slice your pieces into small pieces.  Also, chop your garlic and put it on your beet pan for the last 5 minutes of their cook time.

IMG_4010

Mix up the dressing in a small bowl by combining the olive oil, orange juice, ACV, and dash of sea salt.

Gently combine all ingredients, stirring in the peaches last.  The perfect summer salad… get these farm fresh ingredients while the gettin’ is good!

IMG_4014

tawny