Daily MoodLifter: Good Things Happen When You “Clean Up”

By

Sometimes the attempt at, or even the thought of eating clean can be a real downer.  I mean, no more Big Macs, no more scarfing down the last 5 bites of your kids mac and cheese, no more all day binges on left over easter candy, cutting back on Miller Light, you know, that kind of thing…. it’s enough to make a girl MOODY!  But let me tell you, there are A LOT more high points that come with eating clean over the long run, so for today’s MoodLifter, I want to share some things I have experienced myself.

1.) ENERGY: A couple of years ago I was having my hormone levels tested because I was SO TIRED all of the time.  I just knew something was wrong.  Everything checked out okay, but over the past 18 months, even though I have had off weeks, my overall energy is almost always higher than it ever has been before.  I attribute it to being more adamant about getting in my water (I ALWAYS start my day with water and take a big bottle with me throughout the day), incorporating green smoothies in several mornings a week, and getting at least some fresh fruits and veggies EVERYDAY (there is a rarely a day that goes by that I don’t do this).salad

2.) Appearance: The great thing about cleaner eating and living is that your skin looks so much better, and you just have a more youthful glow.  The bad thing is that you are so much more aware of how bad you look when you aren’t taking care of yourself.  Sleep, food, hydration…. the whole bit makes a huge difference.  Sometimes, as a busy mom, so much of this seems out your control.  But the more you can keep a healthy routine, the better you are going to look.

Picture courtesy http://www.anewmode.com/beauty/eating-for-beauty/

Picture courtesy: http://www.anewmode.com/beauty/eating-for-beauty/

3.) Relationships: The better you feel about yourself, the better you treat the people you love.  If I am feeling self conscious, embarrased about my skin or weight, and just tired & grouchy, that is reflected in the way I treat my husband and kids.  When I am taking the very best care of myself and treating myself with love instead of disappointment, I have so much more love to share with my family.

paxtonAll Moodiness,

Tawny

P.S. If you are a mom looking for balance, motivation, accountability, and a healthier lifestyle, I would love to offer you a complimentary consultation!  Moms need to be taken care of too!  E-mail me: tawny@tawnyhurstwellness.com for more information, or visit our services page.