Daily MoodLifter: Know When to Walk Away

By

“You’ve got to know when to hold ’em, know when to fold ’em
Know when to walk away, know when to run.” Kenny Rodgers

I think it’s strange that I am a 33 year old mother of 3 and these lyrics go through my head daily.  But it’s so true.  And it’s life.

Some of us just have a fighting spirit.  I’m not saying I’m always the hardest worker, or am always the first to volunteer, but when I decide to take something on, I want to see it through.  However, there are just certain things that just don’t go your way, and there’s not always a whole lot you can do about it.   So if you are on a sinking ship, whether it’s a planning an event, stuck in a bad relationship, caught up in a bad habit, whatever… be honest with yourself when it is time to walk away, and try the following: 

1.) Learn something from it: accept fault if the fault is yours, and think about what you can do differently next time. 

2.) Don’t place blame, although that is hard.  Get it out of your system, vent your frustrations to a trustworthy source, then let go of that negative energy and move on. 

3.) DO NOT burn a bridge if you can help it (I’m learning this the hard way!).  Sometimes it is neccessary to ruffle some feathers, or to hurt someone else if you are removing yourself from an unhealthy situation.  I’m not saying be a scape goat.  But think before you throw someone else under the bus or reach the point of giving someone a verbal lashing.  It usually doesn’t pay off. 

All Moodiness,

Tawny