Non-Expert Tips for Family Ski Vacay

By

These are tips you won’t find just anywhere, and believe me, you’re gonna need them if you decide to take on a family ski trip with 3 children under the age of 7.  We just made a 12 hour road trip to Taos, New Mexico with our 3 munchkins.  Wow… Was that an experience!  Paxton loves to ski so I left the trip planning to him.  Haven’t decided if that was a good idea or not.  Here is what I learned along the way… and now I can spare you a lot of moody moments!

1.) If you get nothing else out of this post, get this.  DO NOT use hairspray when going out into freezing weather conditions with a ski helmet. Why?  Well… My bangs got wet …then froze… And when I took my helmet off my hair was cracking like a teenage girl in low cut jeans.  Seriously broke and frayed my hair. Now my bangs are major Messed Up!!!   I couldn’t get a picture that displayed the severity of this situation, so use your imagination.

2.) Think long and hard before letting expert skier husband plan the trip.  I love him, and glad he took initiative.  But 7 nights in a little condo with a tiny, metal deadly staircase, along with a 2 year old, 4 year old, and 7 year old… Can you really call this a vacation??  No washer and dryer- and that’s a BIG deal when you are reusing stinky ski clothes day after day.  But guys don’t think about things like that… So maybe get a smidgen involved in the planning process. I didn’t, so I shouldn’t complain.

Image
3.) Ask about staircase!  
Refer to above… But if you have young kids and you must stay in a 2 story, ask about the stairs.  You don’t wanna spend your time acting like a mad woman scared to death someone is going to break their neck.

Image
4.) Look like a rockstar in sweats:
Pack a fun, white, fluffy jacket and some aviators.  I was so busy packing for my kids, I ended up with the extreme of a bunch of hideous flannel sweats and skin tight jeans.  Hmmm….. The comfy or slutty look.  Which to pick?  But, I did remember my new fun, cropped white fuzzy jacket.  Everywhere I went I got compliments on that jacket… Even in the ugly sweats.  This day I had an awful gray waffle shirt on that is about 10 years old, but I still felt kinda cute.

Image
5.) Remember baby shampoo if you don’t want your kids shrieking for the entire ski village to hear the first time you bathe them.  
Yes, this happened to us.
6.) If you’re not a good skier, take a lesson.
I never have.  It’s obvious.  Ski school… A definite must for the kiddos!

Image
7.) Washer and dryer in condo: Another must.  Especially for long trip.  
8.) You can’t have enough liquor in your condo.  Nuff said.

Image
9.) if you follow a plant based diet, pack your specialty foods and condiments.  Hard to find some things in tiny mountain towns.  Mountain folks like real butter.  In all seriousness, I did find a healthy section in a local grocery store and was elated.

Image

10.) Don’t skip fun stuff because it’s cold.  It was damn cold, and it was New Year’s Eve.  We had been skiing all day, and I had actually cried (real tears!) that day because my hands hurt so bad from the cold.  Anyway, the kids wanted to walk all the way to the center of the ski resort to see fireworks and the ski parade.  It was so worth it, and I’m glad I wasn’t a big baby!

Image

Image

13.) Get some sleep, seriously.  And especially your kids.  Everyone gets a little cranky with the early mornings rushing to ski school, piling on all those clothes, and basically hard core exercising all day.  Naps are CRUCIAL!

Image

12.) If your 2 year old decides to lap water off restaurant tables like a dog, go with it.  You’re never going to see these folks again, anyway.  Not worth the fight!

Image

Image

12.) You can’t have enough liquor in your condo.  Did I already say that?  

All Moodiness,

Tawny