Sunday FunDay… Vegan Style!

By

This is our first official “Meet up with T & S” post (although we’ve actually been meeting up for years).  We got together to make a yummy vegan brunch that took less than 30 minutes to prepare, and time is important to both of us!

Vegan Style Brunch Menu:

Sausage Balls

Tahini Banana Bread

Melon Bowl

Zevia Spritzer

Question:  Why did you guys decide on brunch over any other meal of the day?

Stacie: Brunch takes less time to prepare, and I become a hot moody mess if I spend over an hour in the kitchen.  I like fast, easy, no nonsense meals.

Tawny: I agree, I hate spending all day in the kitchen, especially with 3 kids to take care of.  I need quick, easy meals, and they have to taste good since I have a house full of judges!  I also think brunch is the ultimate “girly” meal.

Stacie: Tawny, I can totally see why you need quick easy meals after preparing this meal today with your three little helpers!  They’re a handful… but so sweet!

Question:  What was the inspiration behind the menu:

Stacie: One of my favorite things growing up were cheesy sausage balls and I have missed them terribly since going vegan. My mom was here a few weeks ago visiting and we modified the recipe using meatless sausage and Daiya cheese and we both instantly fell in love with them. Prep time is 5 minutes and cook time is 20 minutes…easy way to recreate an old favorite.    

Tawny:  I’ve always loved them, too!  And these were just as good, and less greasy!  I can eat anything on an Ezikiel english muffin, so I contributed the english muffins with tahini butter, sliced bananas, and maple syrup drizzled on top.  And because my kids love melon and begged at the store, we also created a little melon bowl sprinkled with cashews.  I love lemon water with cucumbers, and then of course you have to have a cocktail!  

Stacie: It’s always good to have water with a little extra flavor, and if you don’t like cucumbers, try any type of fruit (strawberries, blueberries, oranges, etc.) to fit your individual taste.  And it’s always nice to have a refreshing cocktail that doesn’t pack on the calories.  Good concoction, Tawny.  Glad to see all those years of mixing cocktails in college worked!

Recipes:

Vegan  Sausage Balls                                                                                                         

1 pkg. vegan sausage (my favorite is gimme lean)                                                                   

1 cup vegan cheddar cheese shreds (I love Daiya chedder)

1 tbsp. heart smart Bisquick

Mix all ingredients in a bowl, form balls, and bake on greased or non-stick cookie sheet in oven on 450 for 10 minutes, flip the balls over, and cook for 10 more minutes.  Serve.

Tahini Banana Bread:                                                                                                                      

Ezikiel whole grain engilsh muffins halved

Tahini Butter

Sliced Bananas

100% pure maple syrup

Layer all ingredients and drizzle with maple syrup.  Serve.

Zevia Spritzer:                                                                                                                      1/2 glass of wine, mixed with even parts of Zevia lemon lime drink and cranberry juice to taste.  Zevia is similar to sprite, all natural and sweetened with stevia.  My kids don’t know the difference.

All Moodiness and Messiness, T&S