Fall Fashion: Vegan Inspiration

By

Shopping has always been one of my favorite hobbies. But shopping with a new vegan perspective can be a little difficult. I absolutely love the fall season for a variety of reasons. The holidays, the cooler weather, the changing of the leaves and most importantly, the fall fashion! My fall fashion must read (has been for years) is the Vogue fall edition, you know the one with over a thousand pages of the top fashions for the coming season. But this year things are a bit different. I am faced with the challenge of trying to be fashionable but yet animal friendly and many of the pages in Vogue are sadly not. It really makes me sick looking at all the beautiful clothes and knowing that animals had to be killed to make them and knowing at one point, I was buying these clothes.

Like most of you know, I have been on my vegan journey for a little over a year now, but I haven’t phased out all animal products in my life just yet but have gradually started to weed them out. Hey, it’s a work in progress people, baby steps…baby steps.

I did a little shopping this weekend and was pleasantly surprised to find more vegan leather options in the stores. Now, I wrote a piece a few weeks back, entitled Va-Va-Vegan about Free People and their new vegan leather line and I have noticed that this is becoming a very popular trend. I hate using the word “trend” to describe something that I and many of you are as well, am passionate about, but it’s the fashion world so everything in it is labeled as a “trend”.

Leather does seem to be the hot commodity for this fall season. From leggings, to skinny jeans, to blazers and tops, you will find leather as an embellishment on many fall favs. I bought the following this weekend, all vegan inspired:

BCBG black skinny leggings

Free People Black Vegan short overalls.

Vegan Leather Jacket

Vegan Leather Skirt

Free People Quilted Vegan Leather Jacket, color stone:

It feels good to slowly but surely weed out all animal products in my life. These are just a few examples of how you can be a fashionista and stay true to what you believe in. Not to mention these vegan options are much friendlier on the budget!

All Messiness, Stacie