Sleep and Clean Eating

By

I am a little bit of an insomniac. I’m so jealous of my husband who can just get in bed at 10pm, fall asleep, and sleep until 7am the next day. He’s always so peppy! I wake up most mornings at 4:30am, and my mind starts racing and I just want to get up and start the day. Then I start to crash early, and my day starts kind of spinning out of control. I’m working on that because I know that sleep is important, regardless. However, the one thing I’ve noticed is that the cleaner I eat, the less sleep I can function on. So, this morning after my workout, even though eating something with a lot of dough and carbs sounded good (and of course junk sounds good when you are tired), I am sticking with my smoothie made of water, banana, apple, baby kale, romaine lettuce, spinach, and celery. I know it will nourish my body and help me get through this day!